What are the three main clinical stages of HIV infection?

What are the three main clinical stages of HIV infection?

Key Points

  • Without treatment with HIV medicines, HIV infection advances in stages, getting worse over time.
  • The three stages of HIV infection are (1) acute HIV infection, (2) chronic HIV infection, and (3) acquired immunodeficiency syndrome (AIDS).

When do HIV symptoms start?

Early HIV symptoms usually occur within a couple of weeks to a month or two after infection and are often like a bad case of the flu. In many people, early HIV signs and symptoms include: Fever. Headache.

What are the 4 stages of HIV symptoms?

Stages of HIV Infection

  • Stages of Infection – (assuming no treatment)
  • Stage 1: Infection.
  • Stage 2: Asymptomatic.
  • Stage 3: Symptomatic.
  • Stage 4: AIDS/Progression of HIV to AIDS.

What are the early signs and symptoms of HIV?

Early symptoms of HIV can manifest as flu-like symptoms and appear after two to four weeks following infection. These symptoms can include fever, chills, rash, night sweats, muscle aches, sore throat, fatigue, swollen lymph nodes, and mouth ulcers.

What are the most common symptoms of HIV?

An unexplained rash with flu-like symptoms

  • Swollen lymph nodes
  • Oral thrush
  • Drenching night sweats
  • Unexplained weight loss of 1O% or more
  • Having an STI
  • How long does it take to see signs of HIV?

    HIV antibody test: This test detects the antibodies produced (within two to 12 weeks of infection) in the body in response to HIV.

  • Antigen test: This test can be done at an earlier stage than an HIV antibody test.
  • Nucleic acid test (NAT): It is also called an RNA test.
  • What is the first sign of HIV?


  • Rash
  • Sore throat
  • Swollen glands
  • Headache
  • Upset stomach
  • Joint aches and pains
  • Muscle pain