What is the Midnighters book about?

What is the Midnighters book about?

The Secret Hour2004Touching Darkness2005Blue Noon2005
Midnighters trilogy/Books

What is Scott Westerfeld known for?

Scott David Westerfeld (born May 5, 1963) is an American writer of young adult fiction, best known as the author of the Uglies and the Leviathan series.

What is the book The Secret hour about?

A few nights after Jessica Day arrives in Bixby, Oklahoma, she wakes up at midnight to find the entire world frozen. For one secret hour each night, the town belongs to the dark creatures that haunt the shadows. And only a small group of people—Jessica included—is free to move about then. They are The Midnighters.

Who is the author of the Uglies?

Scott WesterfeldUglies / Author

What is the main idea of Uglies?

It tells the story of teenager Tally Youngblood who rebels against society’s enforced conformity, after her friends Shay and David show her the downsides to becoming a “Pretty,”. Written for young adults, Uglies deals with themes of change, both emotional and physical.

What is the plot of Uglies?

What is the theme in Uglies?

Beauty, Science, and Influence In school, uglies learn that during the time of the Rusties (the people who lived on Earth prior to Tally’s society), everyone stayed ugly their entire life—and because of this, experienced racism and discrimination based on their looks.

Who are the main characters in Uglies?

Tally YoungbloodAzDavidMaddyShay

What is the setting of the book Uglies?

It takes place in the future, about 300 years after some sort of disaster destroys the old civilization (24.60). It takes place partly in an unnamed city and partly in a small town in the wilderness called the Smoke.

What happened in the end of Uglies?

David’s mom has come up with a way to cure the brain damage, but she needs a willing volunteer. Tally feels so guilty that she volunteers. The book ends with Tally confessing to David how she’s responsible and giving herself up to the city authorities.

What is the resolution of Uglies?

Tally and David use emergency bungee jackets to land safely on one of the Special Circumstances without setting off an alarm. Tally and David rescue their friends, but Shay has been turned into a pretty and David’s dad, Az, was dead. Everyone escapes Special Circumstances safe and makes it to the Rusty Ruins.

What is the climax of Uglies?

Climax. When Tally wakes up one morning, she discovers that the Smokies are being taken by Special Circumstances. She eventually gets captured as well. Tally escapes and finds David.

What is the authors message in the book Uglies?

Scott Westerfeld’s, the author of the book Uglies, purpose of writing the story is to teach us that no one needs to change in order to feel like they belong.

What is the conflict in Uglies?

The central conflict of the whole novel is Tally trying to decide if she really wants to become pretty like everyone else or if she wants to live out her days “ugly” like Shay in the Smoke.

What is the summary of the Uglies?

What is the summary of the uglies?

What happens in the end of uglies?

What is the conflict in the book Uglies?

Who are the Midnighters?

Meet the Midnighters, a group of teens who were born exactly as the clock struck midnight thus allowing them to see the ‘blue time’ – the space in-between. But it’s not all fun and games.

Is the Midnighters by Westerfeld worth reading?

This is the first book in the Midnighters series by Westerfeld and is one of the few Westerfeld series I haven’t read yet. It ended up being an entertaining and creepy story that was well written and easy to read.

Who are the antagonists in the Midnighters series?

The antagonists of the series are Darklings and Slithers, dangerous and powerful beings that created and live in the Blue Hour. In the Midnighters Trilogy, individuals born at midnight are able to live within the Blue Time while in Bixby, Oklahoma.

Who are the protagonist of the Midnighters trilogy?

Over the course of the trilogy Jessica encounters other Midnighters with whom she allies herself. The protagonists in the trilogy are the eponymous Midnighters Desdemona (referred to as Dess), Rex, Jonathan, and Melissa.