What is Ainsworth classification of fungi?

What is Ainsworth classification of fungi?

Ainsworth’s classification (1966, 1973) included kingdom Fungi with Myxomycota and Eumycota divisions. The Eumycota division was divided into 5 sub-divisions, viz., mastigomycotina, zygomycotina, ascomycotina, basidiomycotina and deuteromycotina which were further sub-divided into (classes, orders and so on).

Who gave classification of fungi?

Alexopolous and Mims proposed fungal classification in 1979. They place the fungi including the slime molds in the kingdom mycetae of the super kingdom Eukaryota which, in addition, includes four other kingdoms.

What is fungi and classification of fungi?

Fungi are eukaryotic organisms that include microorganisms such as yeasts, moulds and mushrooms. These organisms are classified under kingdom fungi. The organisms found in Kingdom fungi contain a cell wall and are omnipresent. They are classified as heterotrophs among the living organisms.

Which of the follwing have the Septate and branched Mycellium 1 Phycomycete 2 Ascomycete 3 Basidiomycete 4 Deuteromycete?

So, the correct option is ‘Phycomycetes’.

What are the 3 types of fungus?

The three major groups of fungi are:

  • Multicellular filamentous moulds.
  • Macroscopic filamentous fungi that form large fruiting bodies.
  • Single celled microscopic yeasts.

What is the basis of classification of fungi explain?

Fungi are classified on the basis of sexual reproduction. They are classified into five phyla, namely Chytridiomycota (Chytrids), Zygomycota (conjugated fungi), the Ascomycota (sac fungi), Basidiomycota (club fungi) and Glomeromycota. Thus, the correct answer is option B.

How many Division are there in classification system of fungi given by CI Alexopoulos?

Alexopoulos and C. W. Mims (1979) placed fungi and slime molds under the kingdom of their own, called Myceteae under the superkingdom Eukaryonta. The kingdom is divided into three divisions and further the divisions are divided into sub-division, class and form-class.

Which of the following fungi possess septate and branched mycelium?

Ascomycete is a type of fungus e.g., penicilium, yeast etc. They have branched and septate mycelium.