What is the language policy of South Africa?

What is the language policy of South Africa?

The Constitution of the Republic of South Africa declares that the official languages of the Republic are Sepedi, Sesotho, Setswana, siSwati, Tshivenda, Xitsonga, Afrikaans, English, isiNdebele, isiXhosa and isiZulu.

What is the national language policy?

National language policy refers to official efforts to determine the status, use, domains, and territories of language(s) in a nation-state and the rights of the speakers of the languages in question.

What does the South African Constitution say about language?

3 [1] Afrikaans, English, isiNdebele, Sesotho sa Leboa, Sesotho, siSwati, Xitsonga, Setswana, Tshivenda, isiXhosa and isiZulu shall be the official South African languages at national level, and conditions shall be created for their development and for the promotion of their equal use and enjoyment.

What is the purpose of Language Policy?

The Language Policy is an action statement, which informs how students at IC, learn language, about language and through language. It provides a common understanding of aims and objectives of language learning and teaching and stresses the transdisciplinary nature of language learning.

What is the aim of the South African language in education policy?

In July 1997, the Language-in-Education Policy (LiEP) was introduced in South Africa. While the intention of this policy was to promote all 11 official languages and give individuals the right to choose the language of learning and teaching, the practical implementation has generally been fraught with challenges.

How many official languages does South Africa have?

eleven official languages
South Africa has eleven official languages (see table): English, Afrikaans and nine ethnic languages, of which Zulu and Xhosa are the most widely spoken. While most South Africans can communicate in more than one language, English is the most commonly spoken and the language of official business and commerce.

What is the aim of the South African language-in-education policy?

What is the purpose of language policy in education?

The main aims of the Ministry of Education’s policy for language in education are: Page 2 2 1.to promote full participation in society and the economy through equitable and meaningful access to education; 2.to pursue the language policy most supportive of general conceptual growth amongst learners, and hence to …

Does South Africa have 11 or 12 official languages?

South Africa’s Constitution recognises 11 official languages: Sepedi (also known as Sesotho sa Leboa), Sesotho, Setswana, siSwati, Tshivenda, Xitsonga, Afrikaans, English, isiNdebele, isiXhosa and isiZulu. For centuries South Africa’s official languages were European – Dutch, English, Afrikaans.

What is the nickname of South Africa?

rainbow nation
The country has 11 official languages and many more unofficial ones. This colorful mix of cultures gives South Africa its nickname “rainbow nation.”

Do most people in South Africa speak English?

No – by no means everyone. English is one of South Africa’s 11 national languages. In fact more people speak Afrikaans as their home language in SA. However, English is aspired to as the main language of commerce – and in many ways, culture and internationalism.

How many people in South Africa speak English?


  • Cameroon
  • Kenya
  • Ghana
  • Malawi
  • Namibia
  • Nigeria
  • Liberia
  • Sierra Leone
  • South Africa
  • Do they speak Swahili in South Africa at all?

    Swahili, also known by its native name Kiswahili, is a Bantu language and the native language of the Swahili people.It is a lingua franca of the African Great Lakes region and other parts of East and Southern Africa, including Tanzania, Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi, Kenya, some parts of Malawi, Somalia, Zambia, Mozambique, and the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC).

    Is South Africa A native English speaking country?

    The ones that can easily be identified as native English speaking countries are the US, Canada, UK, Ireland, Australia, New Zealand, and South Africa.