How many divisions are in Punjab Pakistan?

How many divisions are in Punjab Pakistan?

Divisions of Punjab, Pakistan

Divisions of Punjab
Number 9 (as of 2017)
Populations Greatest: Lahore —19,581,281 (2017 census) Least: Sahiwal —7,380,386 (2017 census)
Areas Largest: Bahawalpur — 45,588 km2 (17,602 sq mi) Smallest: Sahiwal —10,302 km2 (3,978 sq mi)
Government Division Administration

How many divisions are there in Punjab?

9 Divisions
Division is an administrative unit of provincial government of Punjab . Every division is further divided into Districts. Division is the headed by commissioner. Punjab Province have 9 Divisions .

How is Punjab divided?

On November 1, 1966, Punjab was divided on the basis of language into the mostly Hindi-speaking state of Haryana and the new, primarily Punjabi-speaking state of Punjab; meanwhile, the northernmost districts were transferred to Himachal Pradesh, and the newly constructed city of Chandigarh and its immediate …

Which is smallest division of Pakistan?

Districts of Pakistan
Areas Largest: Chagai, Balochistan—44,748 km2 (17,277 sq mi) Smallest: Torghar, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa—497 km2 (192 sq mi)
Government District Administration
Subdivisions Tehsils, Union Council

Which is the largest district of Punjab Pakistan?

District Bahawalpur
District Bahawalpur is the Largest District of Punjab province. The division of a district into tehsil is followed in three provinces of Pakistan: Punjab, Balochistan and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa except for Sindh.

How many districts are there in Punjab?

The Lahore and Multan Subahs (combinedly Punjab) during Mughal era while Punjab Province during British era were subdivided into divisions, which were themselves subdivided into districts. After independence, The province of West Punjab had four divisions – Lahore, Multan, Rawalpindi and Sargodha.

Which province of Sindh joined West Punjab?

Most of the former Sind Province became Hyderabad Division, with some parts joining the princely state of Khairpur to form Khairpur Division. The former princely state of Bahawalpur became Bahawalpur Division, therefore joining West Punjab.

How many provinces are there in Pakistan?

At independence in 1947, the new nation of Pakistan comprised two wings – eastern and western, separated by India. Three of the provinces of Pakistan were subdivided into ten administrative divisions.

What is the job of a district magistrate in Punjab?

A district of the state of Punjab in India is a political subdivision in the state. A District Magistrate or a Deputy Commissioner or an officer who is a member of the Indian Administrative Services (IAS) cadre is appointed to look after the administrative affairs of the district.