What OSHA region is Texas in?
Region 6 | Occupational Safety and Health Administration.
How do I contact OSHA in Texas?
Employers and employees with questions about workplace safety and health standards can call OSHA’s Austin Area Office at 512-374-0271. To report workplace accidents, fatalities or situations posing imminent danger to workers, call OSHA’s toll-free hotline at 800-321-OSHA (321-6742).
Does OSHA have jurisdiction in Texas?
Texas is one of twenty-four states under federal OSHA jurisdiction. This means that the majority of private sector workers are required to observe the federal rules and regulations established in the Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970.
What is Texas OSHA called?
The state agency in Texas with the greatest authority in the area of workplace safety is the Texas Department of Insurance, the Division of Workers’ Compensation of which has enforcement responsibility for the Texas Workers’ Compensation Act (for the general provisions of that law, see Chapter 401 of the Texas Labor …
Does OSHA apply to local government?
Please be advised that Federal OSHA neither has regulations, nor jurisdiction, over State, municipal, or volunteer fire departments. Section (3)(5) of the Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970 specifically excludes Federal OSHA’s authority over employees of State and local government.
What can OSHA do to a company?
The OSH Act created the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA), which sets and enforces protective workplace safety and health standards. OSHA also provides information, training and assistance to employers and workers. Contact us if you have questions or want to file a complaint.
Are OSHA standards the same in every state?
Most State Plans have adopted Federal OSHA regulations and standards verbatim. States such as California, Michigan, Oregon and Washington have State Plans that differ significantly from Federal OSHA.
Does OSHA cover public employees in state and local governments?
As we stated in our previous letter to you, Section 3(5) of the OSH Act specifically excludes a State or any political subdivision of a State from the definition of an “employer”. Thus, by law, OSHA cannot directly protect employees of State and local governments.
What counts as an OSHA violation?
Types of Violations SERIOUS: A serious violation exists when the workplace hazard could cause an accident or illness that would most likely result in death or serious physical harm, unless the employer did not know or could not have known of the violation.
What is a reportable OSHA incident?
All employers are required to notify OSHA when an employee is killed on the job or suffers a work-related hospitalization, amputation, or loss of an eye. A fatality must be reported within 8 hours. An in-patient hospitalization, amputation, or eye loss must be reported within 24 hours.