What are 5 physical features of Asia?

What are 5 physical features of Asia?

Asia can be divided into five major physical regions: mountain systems; plateaus; plains, steppes, and deserts; freshwater environments; and saltwater environments.

What are some major physical features of South Asia?

The major physical features of South Asia include mountains, rivers, and deserts. The major mountain ranges are the Himalayas, Hindu Kush, and Karakoram. Other notable mountain ranges, include the Western Ghats, Eastern Ghats, Vindhyas, Satpuras, Aravalli, and Chota Nagpur in India.

What are three major physical features of SE Asia?

Three major landforms in Asia are plateaus, deserts, and steppes. Plateau are elevated areas of land, often flanked by steep hills and mountain ranges; the Tibetan Plateau is one such example.

What natural features are in Southeast Asia?

Here are 12 natural wonders of Southeast Asia that are sure to impress!

  • Railay Bay (photo: Chamaiporn Kitina)
  • Sunrise at Sangkhlaburi, Thailand.
  • Mount Kinabalu, Sabah, Malaysia.
  • Lake Toba, Sumatra, Indonesia.
  • Mount Bromo at sunrise (photo: Dave Lee)
  • Coron Island, Palawan, Philippines.
  • Banaue Rice Terraces, Philippines.

What physical features separate east and Southeast Asia from South Asia Central Asia and Southwest Asia?

In the southeast, the Arkan Mountains and Naga Hills, which stretch across Myanmar and India, and the rolling hills of China’s Yunnan Plateau separate Southeast Asia from the rest of the continent.

What are the major landforms in Southeast Asia?

Southeast Asia is divided into the mainland and island zones. The landforms on the mainland zone include mountains, plateaus, and lowlands. A continental shelf is an underwater landmass. The Sunda Shelf is the continental shelf that extends from the southernmost portion of the South China Sea to the Java Sea.

What natural physical features create the borders for Southwest Asia and Central Asia?

Physical Geography Southwest Asia stretches from the Arabian Sea in the south up to the Black Sea in the North. It is bounded by the Mediterranean Sea on the west side, and connects to Central Asia through rolling mountains on the east.

Which physical features provide a natural boundary on most sides of South Asia?

All the South Asian countries border India by either a physical or a marine boundary. The Himalayas form a natural boundary between South Asia and East Asia (China). The realm is surrounded by deserts, the Indian Ocean, and the high Himalayan ranges.

What type of landform is Indonesia?

Indonesia is a huge archipelago of volcanic islands, which when combined are slightly larger than the country of Sudan and about one-fifth the size of the United States. The country’s islands stretch some 3,200 miles (4,800 kilometers) along the equator south, east, and west of Malaysia.

Which two types of landform areas make up Southeast Asia?

Southeast Asia can be studied by dividing up the realm into two geographic regions: the mainland and the insular region. The mainland borders China and India and has extensive river systems. The insular region is made up of islands and peninsulas between Asia and Australia, often with mountainous interiors.

What is the geography of Indonesia?

There are tropical rainforests and jungles, as well as swampy mangrove areas. Indonesia’s most fertile land is on the island of Java. Indonesia is a vast equatorial archipeago of 17,000 islands extending 5,150 kilometers (3,200 miles) east to west, between the Indian and Pacific Oceans in Southeast Asia.

What are the physical features of Southeast Asia?

Physical features of Southeast Asia include mountain ranges, plains, peninsulas, straights and islands. Vietnam and Indonesia are well-known for their mountain ranges.

How many islands are there in Southeast Asia?

Southeast Asia also includes over 25,000 islands located in the Malaysian Archipelago. The archipelago consists of several smaller island chains. These smaller archipelagos include Indonesia, the Philippine Islands, the Maluku Islands, and New Guinea and its surrounding islands.

What are the two basic zones of Southeast Asia?

This has divided the continental part into two basic zones. First one is Maritime Southeast Asia and the other one is Mainland Southeast Asia. Countries those are basically islands, situated in the Maritime zone. Countries with less sea water around its boundary are situated in Mainland zone.

What is the difference between maritime and mainland Southeast Asia?

First one is Maritime Southeast Asia and the other one is Mainland Southeast Asia. Countries those are basically islands, situated in the Maritime zone. Countries with less sea water around its boundary are situated in Mainland zone. Eastern part of the Wallace line in the Southeast Asia map is also a portion of the region.