Which Brazilian president was impeached?

Which Brazilian president was impeached?

Impeachment of Dilma Rousseff
Accused Dilma Rousseff, President of Brazil
Proponents Hélio Bicudo Miguel Reale Júnior Janaína Paschoal
Date 2 December 2015 – 31 August 2016 (8 months, 4 weeks and 1 day)
Outcome Convicted by the Federal Senate, removed from office

How many presidents have been impeached in Brazil?

Of the individuals elected president, one (Dilma Rousseff) was impeached, four (Deodoro da Fonseca, Getúlio Vargas, Jânio Quadros, and Fernando Collor) resigned and three (Júlio Prestes, Pedro Aleixo, and Tancredo Neves) never took office, while several others died while in office.

Who succeeded Dilma Rousseff?

Dilma Rousseff

Her Excellency Dilma Rousseff
Vice President Michel Temer
Preceded by Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva
Succeeded by Michel Temer
Chief of Staff of the Presidency

How does impeachment work in Brazil?

If two-thirds of the members of the Chamber of Deputies vote in favor of the opinion, the impeachment proceeding against the accused person is authorized. The decision authorizing the impeachment proceeding must then be forwarded to the President of the Federal Senate within two sessions.

Who was the first president of the Brazil?

The Old Republic (1889–1930)

No. President (birth–death) Elected
1 Deodoro da Fonseca (1827–1892) 1891
2 Floriano Peixoto (1839–1895)
3 Prudente de Morais (1841–1902) 1894
4 Campos Sales (1841–1913) 1898

How long is bolsonaro’s term?

January 1, 2019 –Jair Bolsonaro / Presidential term