What are the 6 drug classes?

What are the 6 drug classes?

The 6 Classifications of Drugs. When considering only their chemical makeup, there are six main classifications of drugs: alcohol, opioids, benzodiazepines, cannabinoids, barbiturates, and hallucinogens.

What are the 4 classes of medication?

The 4 Categories of Medication

  • General Sales List (GSL) GSLs are a type of medicine that have few legal restrictions.
  • Pharmacy Medicines. Pharmacy Medicines are only available to purchase behind the counter at a pharmacy.
  • Prescription Only Medicines.
  • Controlled Drugs.

Why are drugs Categorised?

Drugs have been named and categorized for a variety of reasons: within political systems, to guide policies related to drugs; within health services or medical science, to guide prescriptions for drug use and to treat and prevent drug-related harm; and within survey research, to assess and compare patterns of drug use.

How do you categorize medication?

Drugs are classified by how they work, what they treat, and their chemical structure. Some drugs fit in more than one category. Others are grouped together under some classification methods but not others.

How is medication categorized?

A drug may be classified by the chemical type of the active ingredient or by the way it is used to treat a particular condition. Each drug can be classified into one or more drug classes.

What is Category C in pharmacy?

Category C of the drug tariff contains medicines which are not readily available as other generic medicines, as they are typically modified release formulations. When writing generic prescriptions, Category C medicines are reimbursed at the price of the originator brand.

What is category A in Pharmacy?

Class A pharmacy means a pharmacy which has a pharmacy permit with a pharmacist on duty at least forty (40) hours per week, and no unsatisfactory deficiency and no more than three non-compliant deficiencies noted on its last Board inspection.