Table of Contents
Are Maryland public schools required to provide transportation?
Current Law: MSDE generally requires Type I and Type II school vehicles to be used to transport students to and from school and school related activities when local school system sponsored transportation services are provided.
Do PG County school buses have cameras?
Every PGCPS bus now has a ticket camera. The technology catches drivers who illegally blow past the buses’ stop signs.
How far does Hcpss make students walk before offering a bus?
Bus stops are established based upon several factors, which include walking conditions, walking distance to the stop and road accessibility. Given acceptable walking conditions, bus stops are placed a minimum of one-quarter mile apart. Students may be required to walk up to . 4 miles.
Do you need a CDL to drive a school bus in Maryland?
A school bus trainee shall: Meet all MVA licensing requirements, including a CDL class B (or A) driver’s license with appropriate endorsements, P (passenger) & S (school bus). Some counties require certification for driving Air Brake vehicles.
How many points is passing a stopped school bus in Maryland?
Those caught breaking the law by police can cost a driver a $570 fine and a three-point penalty on their driver’s license.
What kind of license do you need to drive a school bus in Maryland?
CDL class B
Meet all MVA licensing requirements, including a CDL class B (or A) driver’s license with appropriate endorsements, P (passenger) & S (school bus). Some counties require certification for driving Air Brake vehicles. Have not more than two current points on their driving record and a satisfactory past driving record.
How do I become a bus driver in Maryland?
A Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) with school bus and passenger endorsements is required. A Maryland driver’s license is required for CDL training. 30+ hours per week plus more if desired.
What happens if you don’t stop for a school bus Maryland?
Troopers are reminding motorists to be on alert for school buses and not to ignore the red flashing lights when a bus is stopped. Those caught breaking the law by police can cost a driver a $570 fine and a three-point penalty on their driver’s license.
Does Prince George’s County have public transportation?
Prince George’s County operates TheBus, a County bus service, to meet local transportation needs of its residents and visitors. TheBus’ fixed route system consists of 28 routes that cover more than 10,000 miles throughout the County. TheBus operates Monday through Friday.
Why choose Prince George County public schools?
Prince George County Public Schools is focused on preparing our students to navigate an ever-changing world by engaging, encouraging, and inspiring every child throughout their educational journey.
Are masks required on public transportation in Prince George’s County?
While masks are already required on all public transportation in Prince George’s County, the CDC has issued a new federal requirement. Remember, whenever you are on public transportation, you must wear a mask that covers both your nose and your mouth.
What’s new at PGCPS?
New Initiatives for 2020-21 Beginning school year 2020-21, PGCPS will implement several solutions to address on-time arrivals and improve communication. These include centralized bus stops, GPS-enabled tablets on buses, and better tracking software. Below, please find our most frequently asked questions.