Who are the finalists for the Vezina Trophy?

Who are the finalists for the Vezina Trophy?

Jacob Markstrom of the Calgary Flames, Igor Shesterkin of the New York Rangers and Juuse Saros of the Nashville Predators are finalists for the Vezina Trophy as the NHL’s top goaltender in 2021-22.

Did Tim Thomas win a Vezina?

– Tim Thomas isn’t ready to rank where his incredible season stands in NHL history. The affable Boston netminder won the Vezina Trophy as the league’s outstanding goaltender at the NHL awards Wednesday, capping a season in which he led the Bruins to a Stanley Cup championship.

Who won the Vezina Trophy the most?

Jacques Plante holds the record for most times winning the Vezina Trophy with seven, one more than Bill Durnan and Dominik Hasek. However, Hasek has won the most times under the current system of honoring the best individual goalie. Canadiens goaltenders have won the Vezina 29 times, the most of any team.

Has Mike Smith won a Vezina?

He went on to record an impressive 38 wins in his first season in Phoenix, as the Coyotes qualified for their third consecutive playoff berth, and finished fourth in voting for the Vezina Trophy, awarded to the league’s top goaltender.

Is Tim Thomas a Hall of Famer?

Former Bruins goaltender Tim Thomas was inducted into the United States Hockey Hall of Fame this week. It was a deserving accolade after an outstanding career for the Flint, Mich., native.

How many cups did Tim Thomas win?

Thomas is a two-time winner of the Vezina Trophy (2009 and 2011) as the NHL’s best goaltender, and was a member of Team USA in the 2010 Winter Olympics in Vancouver. Thomas won the Conn Smythe Trophy as the most valuable player in the 2011 Stanley Cup playoffs….Timothy Thomas Jr.

Tim Thomas
Playing career 1997–2014

Is Rick Middleton in the Hall of Fame?

Middleton is 92nd on the NHL’s all-time points list. Of those ahead of him on the list eligible for induction, 73 percent have been enshrined in the Hall of Fame….Hall of Fame comps.

Player Rick Middleton
Seasons 14
G 448
A 540

Is Terry O’Reilly in the Hall of Fame?

In 2002, the Bruins retired his jersey #24 while in 1990, the Ontario native was inducted into the Oshawa Sports Hall of Fame.

Why did Tim Thomas retire?

“I couldn’t follow the game anymore,” Thomas added. “My brain wasn’t functioning well enough to be able to keep up with the game, so I sat out in the woods for a few years. I didn’t watch much hockey. There’s not much TV out there.”

Jacob Markstrom, Juuse Saros and Igor Shesterkin were named the finalists for the Vezina Trophy on Tuesday. The winner of the award, which is given annually to the goalie voted the best at his position by NHL general managers, will be announced as part of the 2022 NHL Awards during the conference finals or Stanley Cup Final.

What does Vezina Trophy stand for?

The Vezina Trophy is an annual award given “to the goalkeeper adjudged to be the best at this position” as voted by the general managers of all NHL clubs. Leo Dandurand, Louis Letourneau, and Joe Cattarinich, former owners of the Montreal Canadiens, presented the trophy to…

Who has won the Vezina Trophy the most times in hockey?

Vezina Trophy Winners 2018: Pekka Rinne , Nashville Predators 2017: Sergei Bobrovsky , Columbus Blue Jackets 2016: Braden Holtby, Washington Capitals 2015: Carey Price, Montreal Canadiens 2014: Tuukka Rask, Boston Bruins 2013: Sergei Bobrovsky, Columbus Blue Jackets 2012: Henrik Lundqvist, New York Rangers 2011: Tim Thomas, Boston Bruins